Late Night Tales

Jon Hopkins

Jon Hopkins has taken charge for the next edition of the Late Night Tales, due for release on 1st March. Amongst the artists Jon has selected feature the likes of Darkstar, Teebs, Nils Frahm, Letherette, Four Tet and Bibio. At the end of the mix there is even an exclusive poem by Rick Holland, a fellow Brian Eno collaborator.

This is what Jon had to say of the project: “Putting this album together was a unique opportunity for me to present music that I have been listening to for years, free from the constraints of a club setting or from trying to stick to one genre.

I chose tracks not just because they have been important to me but because of how they sit together, putting as much thought into the transitions and overall narrative as I did into the track choices. I mixed by key and by texture more than anything else, using original sound design, pivot notes, and often recording new synth or piano parts to link things together in a way that flows as naturally as possible.

Check out this free sampler below:

01. Ben Lukas Boysen ­- Sleepers Beat Theme
02. Darkstar – Hold Me Down
03. HolyOther­ – YrLove
04. Teebs – Verbena Tea with Rebekah Raff
05. Nils Frahm ­- More
06. Songs Of Green Pheasant – I Am Daylights
07. Jonsi & Alex Daniell – In The Sea
08. Evenings – Babe
09. Letherette ­- After Dawn
10. Jon Hopkins – I Remember (Yeasayer cover version)
11. David Holmes ­- Hey Maggy
12. Alela Diane ­- Lady Divine
13. Four Tet ­- Gillie Amma I Love You
14. School Of Seven Bells ­- Connjur
15. Peter Broderick – And It’s Alright (Nils Frahm Remix)
16. Health – Before Tigers (Gold Panda Remix)
17. Last Days – Missing Photos
18. Bibio – Down To The Sound
19. A Winged Victory For The Sullen ­- Requiem For The Static King 1
20. Helios ­- Emancipation
21. Rick Holland – I Remember (Exclusive Spoken Word Piece)

The release is available now on pre-order from Late Night Tales.